Kerala / Rest of South India


Rest of Kerala in Southern part of India is Tamilnadu, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh

South India is a peninsula in the shape of a vast inverted triangle, bounded on the west by the Arabian Sea, on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the north by the Vindhya and Satpura ranges. The narrow strip of verdant land between the Western Ghats and the Arabian Sea is the Konkan region. The Andaman and Nicobar islands lie far off the eastern coast of India, near the Tenasserim coast of Burma. The southernmost tip of mainland India is at Kanyakumari (Cape Comorin) on the Indian Ocean.


West / Central India


Western region of India consists of Gujarat and Maharashtra, along with the Union Territories of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli. The climate varies between tropical wet, tropical wet and dry, and semi arid. The coastal regions experience little seasonal variations although the temperatures range between 20ºC to 38ºC. Mumbai and northern Konkan regions experience cooler winters with minimum temperatures hovering around 12ºC. Interior Maharashtra experiences hot summers with maximum temperatures averaging 40ºC and mild winters with minimum temperaturesaveraging about 10ºC. Gujarat also has a warm climate with hot summers and cool winters.


North/East India


Northeast India is a slightly sliced region between eastern region in India and Purvanchal Range - an eastward extension of the Himalayas in the northern belt of India that primarily consists of all the regions that have been carved out of the original Province of Assam of British India that consists the present day Assam or Assam Valley and rest of the contiguous- Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and former Princely States of Manipur and Tripura. Apart from these, more recently as a part of greater Northeast India, state of Sikkim and parts of North Bengal (districts of Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, and Koch Bihar) can also be collectively referred as Northeast India.